The Two Worlds

The ten months leading up to the labour room was speedy. One’s mindset kept changing. Doubt, happiness, worry, tension, acceptance, peace, surprise, intrigue, tiredness, pain and then, she was born. Now, this might not seem like much, and I probably could have put them all down in different words, drawn a beautiful dramatic story out of the birth of a new life, but yes, that does not change the fact that she was born.

It’s just natural, I reminded myself. A birth is only but a natural phenomenon. Nothing new, and I’m not going to get emotional over this in there. These were the thoughts in my mind until I had entered the labour room with her.
And at that moment, when I was in there, my feeling about it all changed, in one sweeping instant. The moment when my baby was taken out of the world that she had lived the for last ten months, the calmness, and the comfortable and beautiful world that she was accustomed to, into the world that was chaotic, brutal and unorganized, I felt that this was nowhere near natural.
To deliver a child, the whole activity had to be one of the most understated things a mother does. The efforts she takes, the pains that she endures, the happiness she feels, all just too magical to put down into words.
It was when I was stood there beside her, that I felt a happiness, an emotion I just cannot define. The place was frantic, what with all the madness surrounding her. To the doctors, it was just another day. They stood there waiting for the ‘push’, while they were discussing where they had their breakfast. They seemed very casual about it all.
Only we knew that this moment was going to change us, that this moment would be unforgettable, etched in our mind forever. And then, the final push! Tears started pouring down my eyes. I looked at the baby, and looked back at her. She was looking at me for confirmation amidst all the madness that was the labour room. I looked at her, the words stuck in my throat. I couldn’t say it. Its a girl, I thought. I couldn’t say it.
She gripped my hand, tears flowing down her eyes. Why couldn’t I just say those beautiful words!! I swallowed hard, and coughed happily, amidst teary eyes, “Its a girl, honey! Its our girl!”
We both hugged, laughing the tears away, the happiest day yet had arrived!

2 thoughts on “The Two Worlds

  1. God bless you both. So lovely. My father would tell me, almost on every single birthday of mine, the story of my birth and what he did and how he felt. On one birthday, I was away from home and he emailed me happy birthday with the same story, a screen shot of that email is now my constant reminder of how much my life is such a valuable moment in someone’s life and that is makes my life so worthwhile. God bless you both and your lovely princess!

Leave a comment